Knowledge Base

How to monitor blacklisted sites using Dropmysite

This article describes how to use the Dropmysite cPanel plugin to periodically check if your website has been added to the Google Safe Browsing blacklist.

Website blacklist monitor

Google Safe Browsing scans sites for malware and phishing content, and several web browsers use Google's site blacklists to warn visitors of potentially unsafe sites.

Dropmysite includes a Google blacklist monitoring feature. If the blacklist monitor detects that your site is blacklisted by Google Safe Browsing, it sends you an e-mail alert so you can take immediate corrective actions.

The blacklist monitor is not enabled by default, but you can enable it for any domain hosted at A2 Hosting.
Adding a blacklist monitor

To add a blacklist monitor for your website, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to cPanel.
    If you do not know how to log in to your cPanel account, please see this article.
  2. In the Software and Services section of the cPanel home screen, click Dropmysite:

    cPanel - Dropmysite icon

    The Dropmysite dashboard appears:

    Dropmysite - Dashboard

  3. Click the Add Website Blacklist Monitor DropMySite - Add Website Blacklist Monitor icon icon.
  4. On the Website Blacklist Monitor page, specify the settings you want:
    • In the Website list box, select the website profile that you want to monitor.
    • In the Url text box, type the URL that you want to monitor.
      You must include an http:// or https:// prefix with the URL.
    • In the Database list box, you can optionally select a database to monitor.
    • In the Alert email text box, type the e-mail address where you want to receive notifications.
    • To prevent Dropmysite from making any backups of your site when malware or phishing is detected, select the Stop backup after malware or phishing alert detected check box.
    • Select the I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Website Blacklist Monitor check box.
  5. Click Save. The blacklist monitor is now configured and active.
Managing a website blacklist monitor

After you create a blacklist monitor, you can manage it. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to cPanel.
    If you do not know how to log in to your cPanel account, please see this article.
  2. In the Software and Services section of the cPanel home screen, click Dropmysite:

    cPanel - Dropmysite icon

    The Dropmysite dashboard appears:

    Dropmysite - Dashboard

  3. Under Website Blacklist Monitor, locate the blacklist monitor you want to manage, and then select one of the following options:
    • To edit the settings for the monitor, click the Edit Details (DropMySite - Edit Details icon) icon.
    • To view the website backup history, click the Website Backup History (DropMySite - Website Backup History icon) icon.
    • To view the database backup history, click the Database Backup History (DropMySite - Database Backup History icon) icon.
    • When Dropmysite detects that your site has been blacklisted, it sends you a notification e-mail. This message contains a URL that you can click to acknowledge receipt. Alternatively, you can click the Acknowledge (DropMySite - Acknowledge icon) icon.
    • To check right now if your website has been blacklisted, click the Check Now (DropMySite - Check Now icon) icon.
    • To start the Google Safe Browsing Site Status tool for the site, click the Google Diagnostic (DropMySite - Google Diagnostic icon) icon.
    • To delete the blacklist monitor profile, click the Delete (DropMySite - Delete icon) icon.

 

More Information

For more information about Dropmysite, please visit https://www.dropmysite.com.