Knowledge Base

How to modify or rebuild a Cloud VPS configuration

This article describes how to modify an existing Cloud VPS configuration, or how to build an entirely new Cloud VPS configuration from scratch.

View the Cloud Control Panel Overview Video

Modifying a Cloud VPS configuration

You can modify an existing Cloud VPS configuration. For example, you can add more memory, increase the network rate, and much more. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the Customer Portal.
    If you do not know how to log in to the Customer Portal, please see this article.
  2. On the menu bar, click Services and then click My Services.
  3. Locate your Cloud VPS service, and then click Manage. The Cloud VPS page appears.
  4. If the virtual machine is running, click Stop VM in the VM State area.
    You cannot modify the configuration of a virtual machine that is running.
  5. In the Resize VM area, select the options you want for the virtual machine:

    Customer Portal - Cloud VPS - Resize

    You can only increase disk size, you cannot decrease it. This is because data could be lost if the disk size were decreased.

  6. Click Resize VM. The virtual machine is reconfigured with the new options.

Rebuilding a Cloud VPS configuration

You can delete an existing virtual machine and create an entirely new configuration. There are several reasons why you might want to do this instead of modifying an existing virtual machine. For example, you may want to start over with a “clean” system. Similarly, if you want to change the operating system template, you must create a new virtual machine image.

To build a new Cloud VPS configuration, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the Customer Portal.
    If you do not know how to log in to the Customer Portal, please see this article.
  2. On the menu bar, click Services and then click My Services.
  3. Locate your Cloud VPS service, and then click Manage. The Cloud VPS page appears.
  4. If the virtual machine is running, click Stop VM in the VM State area.
    You cannot modify the configuration of a virtual machine that is running.
  5. In the VM Controls area, click Destroy VM:

    Customer Portal - Cloud VPS - VM Controls

  6. A warning message appears. To delete the virtual machine, type DELETE and then click Destroy VM.

    Make sure you back up any data that you want to save from the virtual machine before you destroy it. A2 Hosting does not maintain backups of Cloud VPS images at this time. When a virtual machine is destroyed, its data is permanently deleted.

  7. Wait at least two minutes so the system can completely remove the old virtual machine image.

    • If you change your mind and decide that you do not want to delete the virtual machine, you have a short time period (60 seconds) in which you can recover it. To do this, click Recover VM immediately.
  8. Select the options you want for the new virtual machine, and then click Deploy VM.