Knowledge Base

How to manage contacts and sub-accounts on the Customer Portal

This article describes how to manage contacts and sub-accounts for your A2 Hosting account using the Customer Portal.

You can define the types of information that contacts receive about your account. Additionally, you can set up sub-accounts to delegate account administration tasks to other people. When you create a sub-account, you define the specific areas of the Customer Portal that the sub-account is allowed to access.

Adding a new contact or sub-account

To add a new contact for your account, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the Customer Portal.
    If you do not know how to log in to the Customer Portal, please see this article.
  2. On the menu bar, click Hello Name, where Name represents your name.
  3. Click CONTACTS/SUB-ACCOUNTS:

    Customer Portal - Contacts

  4. In the Choose Contact list box, select Add New Contact.
  5. Fill out the fields with the contact's information.
  6. If you want to create a sub-account for this contact, select the Activate Sub-Account check box. Additional options appear:

    • Under Sub-Account Permissions, select the check boxes for the permissions you want to enable for the contact.
    • In the New Password text box, type a password for the contact.
    • In the Confirm New Password text box, retype the password.
    You should only create sub-accounts for contacts that you trust. Also, when a sub-account has permission to open tickets, any tickets that it submits are sent using the primary account owner's e-mail address. The sub-account owner receives a copy of the ticket.
  7. Under Email Preferences, select the types of e-mail messages that you want the contact to receive.
  8. Click Save Changes.

Deleting a contact or sub-account

To delete a contact or sub-account, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the Customer Portal.
    If you do not know how to log in to the Customer Portal, please see this article.
  2. On the menu bar, click Hello Name, where Name represents your name.
  3. Click CONTACTS/SUB-ACCOUNTS.
  4. In the Choose Contact list box, select the contact you want to delete.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page, and then click Delete Contact.
  6. To confirm deletion, click OK.